Share Your Calendar Securely with Customized Access Permissions

Use Teamup’s unique shareable calendar links to provide access to your calendar with limitations you choose.

With a Teamup calendar, you can share your calendar securely with account-based access or via shareable links. Account-based access (users and groups) provides a greater level of security and control. However, shareable links are helpful when you need to provide calendar access temporarily, for an individual outside your organization, or to provide secure public access to your calendar.


Table of Contents

Account-based access versus shareable calendar links

Users and groups

Think of your master calendar as an office building. You own it and control access to it. To let an employee use your offices, you give them a key. You can give a key that opens one office, or several offices, or all of the offices in the building. And, if needed, you can change the lock so the key no longer works. This is how account-based access works: when you make someone a calendar user, it’s like giving them a key they can use to “open” the calendar.

Each key also comes with a set of permissions. One key might allow an employee to enter multiple offices, just to look around. Another key might allow a whole group to come in and rearrange things to suit what they’re doing.

Account-based access provides access to calendar features such as a synced calendar dashboard and event reminders.

A shareable calendar link, on the other hand, is more like a temporary guest pass. It’s best for temporary or limited use. You can control permissions for shareable calendar links, and even add password protection to a shareable link.

You can customize the shareable links that you use. You choose which sub-calendars to include in each shareable link, and set permissions for what people can do with each sub-calendar. You can also use a customized shareable link to embed a calendar with very limited permission (such as read-only) for public access, such as on your website or Facebook page.

🔗More: How to Share Your Teamup Calendar with Users, Groups, and Links

Working with customized shareable calendar links

To create a shareable link, you need administrator access to the calendar.

Go to Settings > Sharing. You will see options to add a user, group, or link. There are also several pre-configured links; you can use these as they are, modify them, or create new shareable links.

For each shareable link, choose which sub-calendars to include. Then set permissions for each sub-calendar you’re including. When you create such a link, a unique calendar key is generated, and that becomes part of the calendar link.

A URL with the calendar key section highlighted.
The calendar key is the code at the end of the calendar link.

The calendar key is the code at the end of the calendar link.

Someone using one of these shareable links will only have access to the sub-calendars and permissions you set for that particular link.

The basic settings for each calendar link include the following:

  • Name: use something specific so you will remember the purpose of the shareable link and who has access to it.
  • Active: you can toggle the shareable calendar link on and off.
  • Administration: be very careful with this option. Only check Yes if you want the link to include full administrative powers.
  • Password: you can include a password for an added layer of security (available on paid plans).

Choosing sub-calendars and permissions

You might have a calendar with forty different sub-calendars; if you create a link that includes only one and share it with someone, they’ll only have access to the one sub-calendar you included.

You can choose to include all sub-calendars or select the calendars you want to include. If you include all sub-calendars, you can set permissions globally.

There are nine different levels of access permissions that you can assign to each of the sub-calendars for a shareable link.

  • Administrator: Includes all permissions and is the only permission level allowing access to the Settings interface of the calendar. Use this permission with great care! 
  • Read-only: Can view calendar events, including details, but not make changes.
  • Read-only, no details: Can view calendar with events marked as reserved time blocks, but no further event details included. Cannot make changes.
  • Add-only: Can add new events; can read but not modify any existing events. Newly added events can be modified only during the current browser session (up to approximately 30 minutes).
  • Add-only, no details: Same as Add-only but the details of any existing events are hidden (marked as reserved).
  • Modify: Can add new events and modify or delete any existing events on the shared calendar.
  • Modify-from-same-link: Can add new events and modify any existing events that are created via the same link, but can only read (not modify) any existing events created via other calendar links.
  • Modify-from-same-link, no details: Can add new events and modify any existing events that are created via the same link, but the details of any events created by others will be hidden (marked as reserved).
  • Not shared: the calendar is not included in the shareable link; it will not show in the list of sub-calendars on the sidebar.

🔗More: How to Customize Access Permissions

You can edit, deactivate, or delete calendar links at any time.

To deactivate an existing calendar link, go to Settings > Sharing. You’ll see a list of your users, groups, and shareable links.

  • To deactivate a link, toggle the button on the left side of the link.
  • To edit or delete a link, click on the editing button on the right side of the link.

Calendar links are always under the control of the calendar administrator. If you need to grant temporary access to your calendar, you can do that. Simply deactivate or delete the shareable link when you no longer wish it to be used.

🔗More: Managing Calendar Links


Header image by Nastuh Abootalebi on Unsplash