Data protection is more important than ever; take these steps to keep your calendar secure.
Being able to easily share your calendar with others is key benefit of Teamup. To do so securely, follow these steps as they apply to your calendar use. Keep your calendar data protected, while sharing the information you want others to have.
- Be aware of the power of your administrator link and use it appropriately. Your administrator link allows access to all the Settings of your calendar, including the ability to view, modify, and delete all the data it contains, and even delete the calendar itself.
- Periodically review your calendar links in Settings > Sharing to make sure that the links are shared with users of your choice. Ensure that they are set up with the appropriate permission levels. It’s easy to forget about previously shared calendar links that may no longer be needed. You can deactivate or delete out-dated links. See how to manage calendar links.
- If an employee leaves your organization and should no longer have access to your calendar, your can simply delete the link for that employee. If that link is shared among a group of users, delete the old link and create a new link for those who still need access. Even administrator links can be deleted and new ones created. The delete option is available in Settings > Sharing. See how to manage calendar links.
- Enable password protection for your calendar links. This extra layer of security is available for all paid plans. The password is embedded in the calendar link you create; if you change the password, the calendar link will no longer work. See how to enable password protection for calendar links.
- If you have enabled your users to subscribe to iCalendar feeds from your Teamup Calendar and want to prevent a departing employee from accessing the feeds, you can either disable or delete the calendar link that was shared with that employee previously, or enable password protection on that calendar link. Be aware that some calendar systems such as Google Calendar may keep previously synced data until the user removes the subscribed calendar.
- Ensure that you create outbound iCalendar feeds from a calendar link set with appropriate permissions. See how to let others view your calendar using iCalendar feeds.
- Review who has subscribed to email notifications and daily agenda emails in Settings > Notifications. The calendar administrator can subscribe or unsubscribe users if needed. Pay attention to the links from which the notification subscriptions were created. This is important as the respective links are included in the notification emails. See managing notifications.
- For calendar administrators: We recommend using administration links strictly for administration purposes and creating separate links for the day-to-day use of the calendar. This reduces the risk of accidentally sharing administration access to the calendar. See what you need to know about your administrator link.
- Use a calendar link with appropriate permissions for a Slack integration, when posting calendar notifications to a group channel. Notifications posted on Slack will contain the calendar link you used for the integration. This allows members of the channel to click to open the calendar to see more details or take actions if needed. Make sure that the link you use has appropriate permissions for the channel users. See how to integrate Slack for group channels.
- When creating new calendar links, default to the lowest level of permission needed for that link. You can adjust the permissions, later, to allow more access and abilities within the calendar as they are needed. See how to share your calendar securely with calendar links.
- Teamup supports the export of calendar data. This can be useful in cases where the Internet is temporarily not available. Learn how to save data to a PDF file or export calendar data.