What You Need to Know About Administrator Access

Administrator access is the key to complete control over your calendar; keep it safe and use it wisely.


Table of Contents

As a Teamup calendar administrator, you’ll be working with administrator level access.

When you create a calendar, you automatically receive administrator access. You can also grant administrator access to other users, if needed. Administrator access gives you all administration privileges over your calendar.

What an administrator can do

Someone with administrator access can open the Settings which provide full administrative powers. Within Settings, you can add or delete sub-calendars; create, modify, and delete sharing links; create, modify, and delete events. You can also delete the entire calendar.

Anyone with administrator access can do all of these actions listed above, and even delete your entire calendar.

That’s why it’s so important to keep your administrator access secure and limited.

Use administrator access with care and do not provide administrator access to unauthorized individuals. 

Keep your calendar secure

Keep administrator access limited to yourself or authorized individuals; don’t give admin-level access to users who do not need to manage anything in the Settings.

A frequent mistake calendar administrators make is to grant administrator rights to users who need to create and modify calendar events, but do not need to manage the calendar settings.

Think twice before granting administrator permission to other calendar users. If you need someone to have control over all calendar events, use modify access permission. Modify access allows someone to add, modify, or delete any calendar event without accessing the calendar settings.

How to grant administrator access

You can grant administrator access to someone else by assigning administrator-level access to an account-based user.

  • Add the individual as a calendar user.
  • In the user profile, go to the Administration section and check Yes.

Note that there must always be one person with administrator access to the calendar. If you created the calendar, but will not be administrating the calendar, assign administrator access to the appropriate person. Then you can remove administrator access from your Teamup user account.

For more info, see this article on working with calendar users.

Important things to remember

  • Do not share administrator access with other users who do not need to manage the various options in Settings.
  • Do not use a group email as the calendar administrator email (such as info@yourcompany.com or marketing@yourcompany.com) if these email addresses have multiple recipients or are frequently changing owners.
  • Do not use a link with administrator access permission to embed your calendar into a website or Facebook page. Create a shareable link with read-only access permission and use it to embed your calendar. More details here.

Help! I lost my administrator access!

If you created a Teamup calendar prior to September 2020, you may have access to your calendar via an administrator link only, without a Teamup user account. If so, we recommend switching to user account-based access for more security. See details here.

If you have accidentally deleted your admin link and don’t have a copy of it anywhere, don’t panic. We can help you recover a lost administrator URL.

  • Check your calendar dashboard

If you used the same email address as your Teamup user account to create the calendar, the administrator link would have been automatically added to your calendar dashboard. Log in to your Teamup user account and check your dashboard for the link.

  • Use your email address

Search your email. Search for email subject “[Teamup Support] Your new calendar” in your email archive.

If your email search doesn’t turn up the result you need, or if you no longer have access to the administrator email, or don’t remember the email address used, contact our support team for help.

Header image by JJ Ying on Unsplash.