Secure a Compromised Administrator Link

Administrator access provides full access to and control over your calendar. It’s important to only provide administrator access to authorized individuals who need access to all calendar settings.

If you have accidentally given administrator access to a shared calendar link, here’s what to do:

  • If an employee with access to a link with administrator access has left your organization, follow these steps.
  • If you have lost a link with administrator access, follow these steps.
  • If you have accidentally shared a link with administrator access (with an individual, a small group, or even publicly), you can take one of these steps immediately:
    • change the access permission on the link.
    • deactivate the link.
    • delete the link.
    • add a password to the link.
  • See this article for details about working with shareable calendar links.

Switch to account-based access

If you created a Teamup calendar prior to September 2020, you may have administrator access to your calendar via an administrator link, without having a Teamup user account.

If that is the case, take these steps to secure your calendar:

  1. Switch to user account-based access and give yourself (or the appropriate individual) administrator access via their user account. See this article for the steps.
  2. Delete the link with administrator access which was shared. Alternately, you can change the access permission for the link.

Change the link permission

If you have accidentally shared a link with administrator access with a large group of people, you can change the permission on the link to something appropriate for the group. That way, you do not have to send a new link to the group; they can continue using the same link, but it will no longer be a security issue.

  • Go to Settings > Sharing.
  • Find the compromised link.
  • Click the Edit icon.
  • Uncheck the box for Administration.
  • Rename the link something that describes its new use.
Uncheck the box for “Administration” and rename the compromised link.
  • Scroll down to select the calendars and set the permissions to include in this link. THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT. If you do not adjust the calendars and permissions, this link will still have Modify permission for All sub-calendars.
  • Choose All sub-calendars or Selected sub-calendars.
  • Set the access permission level appropriately for each sub-calendar included (or globally, if including all sub-calendars). Make sure it is a permission that is appropriate for the group who now will be using this link.
  • Click the green Save button.
Choose which sub-calendars to include and ADJUST THE PERMISSION LEVEL appropriately. Then click Save.

Premium users can enable password protection for any shareable link; that way, if it is accidentally shared, it will still be unusable without the password.

Learn more:

How to Re-secure Your Teamup User Account

If someone else has gained access to your Teamup user account or your login credentials, you can revoke access and re-secure your account. Here's...
Annie
0 sec read

Ways to Quickly Move Events

Drag-and-drop is a convenient way to move an event, either to a different date or a different sub-calendar. The right-click context menu makes moving...
Annie
0 sec read