10 Best Practices for Shared Calendar Links

Follow these 10 tips for secure and helpful calendar links.

Here are Teamup’s best practices and tips for using and managing shared calendar links. Unique calendar links let you share your calendar while maintaining security and control.

With Teamup Calendar, calendars are accessed via calendar links. The calendar administrator can create, modify, and delete these calendar links as needed. This unique way of accessing shared calendars for groups provides several benefits:

  • No registration required: With a calendar link, users can open a calendar without needing to register or login.
  • Customized access: Each calendar link is unique for the calendar user or user group, and can be set to allow access to selected sub-calendars and with customized access permissions for each sub-calendar included.
  • Limited and secure access: The calendar administrator can delete or modify a calendar link at anytime; thus, if a client or user needs calendar access for a specific event or time period, it’s easy to provide that access with a calendar link, then delete the link when the event or time period is over.

It is very easy to create new links, modify or delete calendar links, or edit link permissions. You can do all of this without creating a new calendar. Go to Settings > Sharing, then use the blue button at the top right to create a new link. Here’s more detailed information.

Best practices for calendar links

To make the most efficient, secure, and helpful calendar experience for all users and user groups, here are several recommendations from the team at Teamup.

1. Create a unique calendar link for each user or user group.

We recommend creating a unique calendar link for each user or user group.

Doing so gives you control over calendar access: you can choose which sub-calendars to share with each individual user or user group.  This also helps you keep your calendar secure. For example, if an employee leaves your organization and you need to revoke his access to your calendar, you can simply delete the calendar link assigned to the employee.

Learn more about sharing selected calendars.

2. Name individual calendar links with the user’s name.

If creating a unique calendar link for each user, it’s a good idea to use the individual’s name as the name of the calendar link.

Alternately, you could use the title of the position or role for the individual within the organization, for example: Social Media Manager or Events Coordinator.  However, if you use the title of the position for the calendar link, it can be difficult to remember if you’ve deleted the old calendar link when an employee leaves and created a new one for the person taking on the position. That’s why we recommend using an individual’s name, or initials, so you can easily identify which calendar links are current and assigned to authorized users, and which are outdated and need to be deleted.

Learn more about customized calendar links.

3. Name calendar links for a team or user group with the group’s role.

If creating a unique calendar link for a user group or team, you could use the group’s title or function within the organization as the name of the calendar link: Graphic Design Team or Customer Service Team. If a member of the team leaves, you then have two options: you can delete the group’s calendar link, create a new one, and share the new one with the remaining team members.

Learn more about team management with Teamup Calendars.

4. Use password protection for a team calendar link.

For a calendar link assigned to a user group or team, it’s a good idea to enable password protection for the calendar link.

This way, if a member of the team leaves the organization or moves to a new team, you can simply change the password. Inform the remaining team members of the new password and they’re able to continue using the same calendar link securely.

Learn more about password protection.

5. Set access permissions at the lowest level of access by default.

Each sub-calendar you include in a calendar link can be assigned a level of access permission, from read-only all the way to full modify permission.

If you’re unsure which access permission to assign, it’s a good idea to start with the most limited one to prevent accidental changes to calendar data. You can always change the access permission, if you find that a higher level of access is needed for the user or user group.

Learn more about access permissions.

6. Keep your calendar administrator link secure.

The administrator link to your calendar provides access to all the Settings for your Teamup Calendar.

The settings are the control panel for the entire calendar: in the settings, you can add and delete sub-calendars, manage calendar links, set the time zone for the calendar, and even delete the entire master calendar. You don’t want unauthorized users accessing the calendar settings; even with good intentions, people can make mistakes and cause unwanted changes to your calendar or jeopardize calendar data.

These two practices are important for keeping your calendar secure:

  • First, limit use of the administrator link to authorized users who need access to the settings for the entire calendar. For all other users, create unique calendar links with appropriate permissions.
  • Second, have the calendar administrator use the administrator link only when they need to manage something in the calendar settings. For normal, day-to-day calendar use, create another link without administrator level access. This can help prevent unintended changes or data loss.

Learn more about the calendar administrator link.

7. Don’t use a calendar link to share a single event.

If you want to invite someone to a particular event, or share an event with a team or group, you don’t need to use a calendar link.

Instead, use the built-in sharing options to share an event (or multiple events) with individuals or groups. In the event editor, click on the Sharing menu to see all the sharing options. They include email, various social media options, and Share as page. The Share as page option is a powerful and easy way to share an event: click on it, and a stand-alone webpage will be automatically created for the event. You can then share the link to that webpage, without granting full calendar access.

Learn more about sharing events and sharing an event as a webpage.

8. Use a read-only link to share your calendar with the public.

Sometimes, you need to share more than a single event with a group or even with the general public.

What if you need to share a series of events, an ongoing schedule, or an entire, regularly updated calendar? You don’t want to allow people to make unauthorized changes to your calendar, but you do want to keep them informed. A read-only link provides security: people can view the calendar and events, but cannot modify or delete events on the calendar, or add anything new.

Once you’ve created a read-only link, you can share it on social media, in an email newsletter, or even embed it in your website.

Learn more about securely sharing a calendar with the public.

9. Update calendar links with new sub-calendars.

If you create a new sub-calendar and need a current user or user group to access it, you can update their calendar links.

There’s no need to create a new calendar link to include a new sub-calendar. Instead, use this method to add a new sub-calendar to the existing calendar link: open the editor window for the new sub-calendar (go to Settings > Calendars, then click on the edit button beside the sub-calendar). Scroll down to the Links with Access section. Check the box next to it so that links without access will also be shown. Choose the permission for the link you want to update, and you’re all set.

Learn more about updating a calendar link.

10. Review your calendar links periodically.

Keep track of who has access to your Teamup Calendar and remove out-dated or unneeded calendar links.

To see all the calendar links for your calendar, use your administrator link and go to Settings > Sharing. You will see a list of all calendar links. You can use the toggle switch on the left side of each calendar link to enable or disable the calendar link: this is a good option if you’re not sure whether a particular calendar link is still needed. You can disable it by toggling it off (the toggle switch will be red) until you determine if the calendar link is needed and secure or not. To modify or delete a calendar link, click on the edit icon to the right side of each calendar link.

Learn more about managing calendar links.

Not sure if Teamup Calendar is right for you? Try out one of our live demo calendars (with all the Premium features enabled) and see how it could be customized for your needs.