Calendar Access Permission: modify-from-same-link

Teamup offers a unique calendar access permission type that allows the user to be able to modify his or her events but not those of others on the calendar.  The permission is called modify-from-same-link.  We’d like to share a use case where this unique permission makes Teamup a perfect solution for a real-world need.

A calendar administrator asked:  “I have users adding events.  Then some details about the event change.   Can they go back into the event and make the changes? I do not want to be the one to have to change items. There will be lots of events posted and I need the one who posts to be able to make changes as needed.”

Teamup has the perfect solution for this need:  The modify-from-same-link permission.  You create a link with this permission for each person that needs to add and change events, then they will only be able to modify events that they created using the same link. They will be able to view all the other events but not edit them.  Here’s how:

CREATING THE LINK

  1. Unique Teamup calendar access permission: modify-from-same-link To Create a link with the modify-from-same-link permission:
  2. Go to Settings,
  3. Go to Sharing.
  4. Click “Create new link”, give a name (e.g. Linda), leave the permission “modify” as is at this point, click “Save”.
  5. Click “Edit” right next to the newly created link, the Edit Link page appears.
  6. Scroll down, select “Share selected calendars”.
  7. Select “Modify-from-same-link” for the sub-calendar of concern, e.g. Linda, and select “Read-only” for all the other sub-calendars.
  8. Save and exit the Edit Link screen.

USING THE LINK

Unique Teamup calendar access permission: modify-from-same-linkAfter you have created this link, share it with Linda.  When Linda opens the calendar, all existing events on this calendar have the small lock sign, meaning they can not be edited.  But Linda will be able to edit any events she created with her link.

It is then also possible to see which link/user created and last modified the event. This information can be seen when viewing a read only version of an event as explained here.

Keep Your Calendar Secure; Do Not Forward Notification Emails

Teamup notification emails contain your calendar link so you can directly access your calendar. Forwarding a notification email means sending your calendar link to...
Annie Mueller
59 sec read

Use Teamup Calendar to Display Work Status or Schedule Updates

You can use your Teamup Calendar in a lobby, office, or group area to display work status, schedule updates, important event changes, and more...
Annie Mueller
49 sec read

Leave a Reply