If you manage projects for yourself, with your team, or for clients, you may find your calendar needs changing. For example, you may have a complex project that requires a lot of calendar space… But once the project is over, you want to clear it off your calendar. You may also want to share events related to the project with your team or client, but not share the rest of your calendar. Teamup can help in all these situations.
Add sub-calendars for projects
Since you can add, modify, activate or deactivate sub-calendars at any time, it’s easy to create a sub-calendar for a specific project. Then you can keep all events and tasks on the dedicated sub-calendar. When the project is over, deactivate or delete the project sub-calendar.
Your other sub-calendars will not be cluttered by project-related tasks and events. Since you can delete or disable sub-calendars when no longer needed, you will not need a long list of active calendars: only keep the ones you are currently using.
Let clients access a single sub-calendar
You can also give limited access. For example, if you are managing a project for a client, you can give your client access to the project sub-calendar only. Create a calendar link for your client, and assign that link access to the project sub-calendar only. Your client will not be able to see your other sub-calendars. See this detailed article on setting up customized permissions in this manner.
When the project is over, you can deactivate the project sub-calendar and deactivate or delete the calendar link.
To deactivate a sub-calendar, go to Settings > Calendars, then use the toggle to the left of the calendar name to deactivate (red) or activate (green):
You can also click the Edit icon next to a sub-calendar and use the toggle in the Active section, as shown below:
If you share your calendar via customized links as mentioned above, these links can be one per person or for a group of people. So if you need to allow a group to access a project calendar, you can share the calendar link with an entire group. Teamup’s Basic (free) plan includes up to 50 of these shareable calendar links.
Give limited calendar access to your team
If you are working with a team, we recommend giving calendar access with a user account.
- Add your team members as account users (see here for details).
- Then, for each team member, assign access to the sub-calendar(s) they need to do their job.
You can adjust calendar access for each user, as needed. So if Sam, a team member, is involved in Project Z and Project B, give Sam access to those sub-calendars. Linda, who is working on Project A and Project X, gets access to those sub-calendars. In this way, each team member accesses only the calendars they need for their roles.